Results

Anthony Evans mail: anthony.evans@pulpfrictions.com | web: anthony.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 23 Sep 2016 20:14:17 +0000
It’s A Nasty And Wonderful World: A Note From This Weekend’s Guest Editor, Gideon Lichfield
The best things to come out of human tribalism are the stories, a few of which we'll share here with you this weekend.
Todd Nelson mail: todd.nelson@horse-d.eu | web: todd.horse-d.eu | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:39 +0000
Inside Nevada’s Moonlite Bunny Ranch: Come For The Sex. Stay For The Negotiation Skills.
Moonlite Bunny Ranch is more than just a brothel. It's a contradictory place where women can go to learn to own their value, and get paid accordingly.
Edward James mail: edward.james@horse-d.eu | web: edward.horse-d.eu | when: Tue, 20 Sep 2016 12:03:21 +0000
How Amazon's Pricing Algorithm Is Designed To Hurt Consumers
​Amazon bills itself as “Earth’s most customer-centric company.” Yet its algorithm is hiding the best deal from many customers.
Jesse Bryant mail: google@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: jesse.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Fri, 26 Aug 2016 19:59:27 +0000
Why You Should Start Investing While You’re Young And Broke
Turns out, starting to invest when you don’t have much money or experience can actually be an advantage. Here’s why.
Gregory Ward mail: gregory.ward@ventredi.eu | web: gregory.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 19 May 2016 15:32:20 +0000
Deconstructing The Best Rhymes Of All Time Explains Why Rap Is Great
Vox reconstructs the history of rapping through the syllables and sounds that make its incredibly complex beats connect, and in some cases, disconnect.
Lee Mitchell mail: lee.mitchell@pulpfrictions.com | web: lee.pulpfrictions.com | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
The Apple Watch Is The Most Anxiety-Inducing Device I’ve Ever Owned
The Watch was supposed to leave us with just the things we really needed. But that’s hardly how it works.
Philip Roberts mail: philip.roberts@ventredi.eu | web: philip.ventredi.eu | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:39 +0000
How Indian Families Took Over The Antwerp Diamond Trade From Orthodox Jews
In the popular European imagination, diamonds remain inextricably linked with the Jews. Time for an update.
Harry Boyd mail: harry.boyd@horse-d.eu | web: harry.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 23 Sep 2016 14:51:20 +0000
There Are Workers In Scotland Who Paint Words On The Road By Hand
Do the people who paint roads get forgotten because their work is *too* perfect?
Brandon Harrison mail: brandon.harrison@affablyhomonym.com | web: brandon.affablyhomonym.com | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
She Was The PTA Mom Everyone Knew. Who Would Want To Harm Her?
"The cop, a 22-year veteran, had found drugs on many people, in many settings. When caught, they always lied."
Jimmy Gonzalez mail: yahoo@ventredi.eu | web: jimmy.ventredi.eu | when: Mon, 15 Aug 2016 17:32:07 +0000
London Has Built A Team Of Detectives Full Of People Who Never Forget Faces
Remembering every face is not nomal, but it is useful. Especially to spot criminals.
Shawn Powell mail: shawn.powell@geheime.club | web: shawn.geheime.club | when: Fri, 23 Sep 2016 20:49:27 +0000
The Complete Guide To Business Drinking In China
Alcohol can lubricate dealmaking and consensus-building around the world, but it’s particularly powerful in China.
Kenneth Harris mail: gmail@daftest.website | web: kenneth.daftest.website | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:39 +0000
Many Scientific 'Truths' Are, In Fact, False
If a scientific study can't be reproduced, were the results ever true?
Patrick Gonzalez mail: patrick.gonzalez@pulpfrictions.com | web: patrick.pulpfrictions.com | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
A Former BP Supervisor Who Was Indicted For The Deepwater Horizon Spill Tells His Story
Four years after his indictment, one of the only people prosecuted for the Deepwater Horizon explosion tells his side of the story.
Douglas Carter mail: douglas.carter@pulpfrictions.com | web: douglas.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 14 Nov 2014 13:29:55 +0000
Digg Will Send You The Best Stuff On The Internet Every Morning
Click here, enter your email, and your inbox will be like "Wow, this is awesome."
Philip Mason mail: philip.mason@thedarkswans.com | web: philip.thedarkswans.com | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
Why Is Central Africa Missing From So Many Maps?
That vast gray gap on the map of the Earth isn’t just journalistic laziness.
Louis Parker mail: louis.parker@ventredi.eu | web: louis.ventredi.eu | when: Tue, 26 Apr 2016 23:53:07 +0000
Your Life Is An Uncanny Valley
“Our culture is dying,” we say gravely, apocalyptic prophets all. “What should we do about the culture?”
Jeff Harrison mail: jeff.harrison@hockeymail.de | web: jeff.hockeymail.de | when: Wed, 16 Dec 2015 12:28:43 +0000
A Lighter Even The TSA Approves Of
It’s gas-less and flameless, which means TSA will like it, and windproof and rechargeable, which means you’ll love it.
Billy Ramirez mail: billy.ramirez@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: billy.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
A Crucial Choice For One Kosovar Woman Exemplifies All The Choices Refugees Must Make
Stenkovic II Refugee Camp is not the place anyone would expect to find love. Vjosa must choose: happiness in a foreign country, or loyalty to family in the camp.
Craig Ellis mail: craig.ellis@daftest.website | web: craig.daftest.website | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
For A Year Of My Life, I Cheated Sleep. Here’s How.
Sleep commands respect. If you try to cheat it, you'll fail...eventually.
Alfred Dixon mail: alfred.dixon@geheime.club | web: alfred.geheime.club | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
Quartz Daily Brief
The Quartz Daily Brief is the most important and interesting news from around the world, in your inbox.
Steve Harris mail: steve.harris@pulpfrictions.com | web: steve.pulpfrictions.com | when: Sun, 07 Aug 2016 13:23:32 +0000
Investors Have Placed A One-Way Bet On Uber — Which Made Us Want To Find A Way To Short It
Everyone has generally agreed that Uber is likely to be the singular name in shared transportation. But what if it isn't?
Philip Boyd mail: philip.boyd@daftest.website | web: philip.daftest.website | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
When The UAE Won't Give Someone Citizenship, They Suggest Becoming African Instead
The UAE came up with an odd solution to their growing problem with stateless people, and now it looks as though Kuwait may be doing the same.
Melvin Ellis mail: melvin.ellis@affablyhomonym.com | web: melvin.affablyhomonym.com | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
The 4.3 Million Americans Whose Race Could Change When They Die
The person most qualified to state your race and ethnicity is you... until you’re dead. After, the government says it’s up to funeral directors to guess.
Kenneth Harrison mail: kenneth.harrison@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: kenneth.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
What Fonts Tell Us About The Global Economics Of The Internet
Type design and delivery might seem esoteric, but the flattening world of type speaks volumes about the economic and technological changes that are creating a truly global internet.
Jeff Campbell mail: jeff.campbell@geheime.club | web: jeff.geheime.club | when: Mon, 19 Sep 2016 12:26:56 +0000
I Used To Be A Human Being
"An endless bombardment of news and gossip and images has rendered us manic information addicts. It broke me. It might break you, too."
Edward West mail: edward.west@horse-d.eu | web: edward.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 10 Aug 2016 14:26:19 +0000
All Of The Ways Genetic Engineering Will Irrereversibly Change The Human Race
The world we live in now was incomprehensible in the 1980s. And the world we will live in with genetic engineering is incomprehensible now.
Vincent Foster mail: vincent.foster@pulpfrictions.com | web: vincent.pulpfrictions.com | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
Photos: African Cities Are Starting To Look Eerily Like Chinese Ones
China is providing the manpower to fuel quickly-urbanizing African cities, importing its own ideas about urbanization that may or may not work on the vastly different continent.
Marvin Gibson mail: marvin.gibson@klarkzon.eu | web: marvin.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 16 Sep 2016 00:29:52 +0000
This Group Of Immortalists See Dying As A Human Failure
Immortality gets sold and bought at the Revolution Against Aging and Death Festival — would you purchase the promise of eternal youth?
Jason Cole mail: jason.cole@horse-d.eu | web: jason.horse-d.eu | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:39 +0000
What India’s Working Women Have That Western Women Don’t
Working Indian mothers may not have stay-at-home husbands to help with the children. They do, however, have two things that help them "have it all."
Walter Harrison mail: walter.harrison@affablyhomonym.com | web: walter.affablyhomonym.com | when: Tue, 20 Sep 2016 11:28:29 +0000
The History Of Pockets Is Political
A bag is not a pocket. So why are women left with extra weight to carry on one arm while men have the ability to carry their belongings seamlessly in their clothing?
Lee Mitchell mail: lee.mitchell@pulpfrictions.com | web: lee.pulpfrictions.com | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
Sí, I Can Speak El Tangled Spanglish
Imagine, por un moment, if the words of English y Español could be usar juntos como una language.
Kevin Richardson mail: kevin.richardson@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: kevin.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
These Memories Won't Last
When you look back on your life, what memories would you choose to share?
Craig Gray mail: craig.gray@geheime.club | web: craig.geheime.club | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:39 +0000
The Complete Guide To Business Drinking In China
Alcohol can lubricate dealmaking and consensus-building around the world, but it’s particularly powerful in China.
Donald Harris mail: donald.harris@affablyhomonym.com | web: donald.affablyhomonym.com | when: Thu, 07 Jul 2016 15:50:59 +0000
Digg Has Made Facebook A Little More Useful
With Digg on Facebook Messenger, you’ll get the top news and the most interesting stories of the day delivered directly to you. And if that’s not enough, just ask about any topic you want, and Digg will deliver.
Gregory Martin mail: gregory.martin@geheime.club | web: gregory.geheime.club | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
Finally, African American History Has A Place In The Nation's Capital
The National Museum of African American History and Culture opens in DC on September 24. The overdue addition looks out of place, bringing African influence to one of the most American places.
Steven Marshall mail: steven.marshall@daftest.website | web: steven.daftest.website | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:39 +0000
How Dreams Predict The Future By Making Sense Of The Past
Dreams might not be omens or prophecies in a mystical sense, but they do have a distinct psychological predictive power.
Patrick Kennedy mail: patrick.kennedy@thedarkswans.com | web: patrick.thedarkswans.com | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:39 +0000
What We Mean When We Talk About Race
"If you're talking about race and you're not uncomfortable, you're probably not having the right conversation."
Roy Washington mail: roy.washington@horse-d.eu | web: roy.horse-d.eu | when: Tue, 03 Nov 2015 14:39:10 +0000
America Is Full Of High-Earning Poor People
We tend to associate empty bank accounts with those on the lowest rungs of the income ladder — but we forget the growing class of Americans with good incomes, but no savings and no net worth.
Arthur Garcia mail: arthur.garcia@daftest.website | web: arthur.daftest.website | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
Hundreds Of Thousands Of Migrants Owe Their Lives To One Number Saved On Speed Dial
When refugees' boats begin to sink, a series of phone calls, not sea patrols, can save their lives. It's all part of the largest search-and-rescue program in European history.
Ryan Cole mail: ryan.cole@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: ryan.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Sat, 24 Sep 2016 12:27:40 +0000
The World Bank Is Eliminating The Term 'Developing Country' From Its Data Vocabulary
The World Bank said the change was due to inconsistent use of the term, but it marks an evolution in thinking about the geographic distribution of poverty and prosperity.
Jesse Reynolds mail: jesse.reynolds@innovation-km.com | web: jesse.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 06 Apr 2016 17:33:17 +0000
Would You Propose With A Diamond Grown In A Lab?
Scientists can now grow diamonds structurally identical to real diamonds, but are those diamonds "I do"-worthy?
Lee Roberts mail: lee.roberts@daftest.website | web: lee.daftest.website | when: Fri, 02 Sep 2016 09:06:03 +0000
Is Artificial Intelligence Permanently Inscrutable?
Nobody actually knows how a neural network does what it does. This is going to prove very awkward when they need psychotherapy.
Ryan Evans mail: ryan.evans@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: ryan.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Fri, 20 May 2016 15:25:34 +0000
Imagine A Future Where Physical And Virtual Realities Have Merged
Artist Keiichi Matsuda paints a nightmarish dystopia in which the real takes a backseat to the virtual.
more